Hekz, described by Prog Magazine as “Queen having a barney with Dream Theater as Rush and Iron Maiden duke it out on the sidelines” will release their fourth album ‘TERRA NOVA’ later this year and sees lead singer and bassist Matt Young joined by a new line up of international talent.  This video is the teaser the band put out for their previous album, Invicta.


According to their band, “HeKz has always been a musical chimera, fusing elements of heavy metal, hard rock and progressive music,” explains Young. “The new line up reflects that perfectly – we’ve got a prog guy, a metal guy and a rock guy. On paper, that’s an odd mix but the chemistry is undeniable. This album is the next logical step in the band’s evolution.”
‘TERRA NOVA’ will see Mark Bogert (Knight Area / Magoria) on guitar, Pieter Beemsterboer (ex-Black Rabbit) on keyboards and Moyano el Buffalo (5th Avenue Hamburg) on drums.
“Working with this new line up has already been so rewarding. The guys have so much talent, but also the taste to hold back when necessary. Everybody plays to serve the song, and when they get their moment, it’s quite extraordinary to behold!”
A concept piece, ‘TERRA NOVA’ was written by Young over a two year period. A familiar story with a unique flavour, the album weaves a tale of ambition, duality and the desperate fight to overcome the darkest parts of your personality in order to become the person you were born to be.
“We’re making a double concept album in 4 different countries, working remotely and all during a pandemic. It’s completely mad but tremendously exciting. We’re proud to share this first taste of new music and can’t wait to take you on this journey with us.”
The first single from ‘TERRA NOVA’ will be released in Spring 2021.